top of page
  • Writer's pictureJen

REVIEW TO 'THE RAVEN TOWER' BY ANN LECKIE

UNPAID ADVERTISEMENT {REVIEW}



I received this book as a review copy in exchange for my honest and unbiased opinion. A big thank you goes here to Hachette Australia.




Listen. A god is speaking.


My voice echoes through the stone of your master's castle. This castle where he finds his uncle on his father's throne. You want to help him. You cannot.


You are the only one who can hear me.


You will change the world.


  • Paperback: 400 pages

  • Publisher: Orbit

  • Language: English

  • ISBN-10: 0356507009

  • ISBN-13: 978-0356507002



I fell straight in love with this gorgeous cover and all its tiny details. I love the simplicity of the colours and in my opinion, there couldn't be a better cover to suit this story.


I've had some issues in the early reading stages with this book, picked it up and put it back aside and so on, as it is definitely not an easy story to read. I needed a lot of concentration as for me, it falls into the category 'epic fantasy'. It's not a light read for in between but honestly guys, this book is amazing.


The writing style, once I was used to it, was addictive. I experienced a great reading flow and the story itself is just so packed with action it has been hard to resist the mental pull from this book calling out for me to read on.


The plot is very well thought through and there are definitely no dull or boring scenes to be found in 'The Raven Tower'. I especially loved the varied POVs / time jumps as that kept my mind on track. And then there are the characters. Gosh, I quickly fell for them and constantly felt like I was standing right next to them, experiencing what they go through.



'The Raven Tower' by Ann Leckie has been a very interest read. It isn't the easiest story to get into but you won't regret if you stick with it. It's an epic fantasy story with great characters and a quite interesting writing style. Once I've adjusted to it, I really liked it. Though it was impossible to read to many pages at once.


If you're up for a unique writing style and into epic fantasy, you should absolutely read this story.

13 views

Stay updated

  • Facebook
  • mail
  • Twitter
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
bottom of page