top of page
  • Writer's pictureJen

REVIEW TO 'THE BEAUTIFUL' BY RENEE AHDIEH

ADVERTISEMENT {REVIEW}

I received this book as a review copy in exchange for my honest and unbiased opinion. A big thank you goes here to Hachette Australia.


In 1872, New Orleans is a city ruled by the dead.


But to seventeen-year-old Celine Rousseau, it's also a safe haven after she's forced to flee her life in Paris. Quickly enraptured by the vibrant city, from its music to its extravagant soirees and even its danger, she soon becomes embroiled in the city's glitzy underworld, and particularly the group known as La Cour des Lions.


But when a body is found in their lair, Celine is forced to battle her attraction for the group's enigmatic leader, Sebastien Saint Germain, and suspicions about his guilt, along with her own secrets.


As more bodies are discovered, New Orleans becomes gripped by the terror of a serial killer on the loose - one who seems to have Celine in his sights. But when she finally takes matters into her own hands, she finds herself caught in the midst of an age-old feud between the darkest creatures of the night, where the price of forbidden love is her life.

  • Publisher : Hodder Paperbacks

  • Language : English

  • Paperback : 432 pages

  • ISBN-10 : 1529368154

  • ISBN-13 : 978-1529368154

  • Reading age : 12 - 18 years


The cover of ᴛʜᴇ ʙᴇᴀᴜᴛɪғᴜʟ by Renee Ahdieh is relatively simple, yet absolutely beautiful. I think it looks great and it suits the story behind perfectly.


The author’s writing style has again been an absolute blast. It has been fascinating how she brought the magical city of New Orleans to life with her words. It felt like I’ve been wandering those stunning streets myself, right next to Celine and the members of La Cour De Lions.


I’ve been sucked right in by this breathtaking, thrilling, and partly scary story. There have been no dull or boring scenes at all and I really had a great time reading this book.


There have been quite a few unexpected, surprising twists and turns and the author got me every single time as I didn’t see any of this coming.


I love the setting of the old New Orleans, especially the French Quarter and would for sure love to go there one day. I also really enjoyed the foreign elements of the conversations. They just made them feel so much more authentic.


When it comes to the characters, most of them have been very tangible for me. Except for Huber, who remained a mystery for a very long time. Though Celine, Pippa, and all the others grew really fast on me. Even the detective found a place in my heart after being not as arrogant as I thought him to be in the first place.


Tʜᴇ ʙᴇᴀᴜᴛɪғᴜʟ by Renée Ahdieh is full of darkness, scheming, and vengeful characters, as well as a formidable, breathtaking setting. While reading this story, I have been fully captivated by its mysterious figures that are lurking in dark alleyways to find their next victim.


This book has been brutal, scary, and full of threats. Yet I loved every bit of it and can highly recommend it to all of you. This one has definitely been a favourite for me.


Stay updated

  • Facebook
  • mail
  • Twitter
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
bottom of page