top of page
  • Writer's pictureJen

REVIEW TO 'REMY VS ROME' BY BONNIE CALLAHAN

ADVERTISEMENT {REVIEW}



I received this book as a review copy in exchange for my honest and unbiased opinion.


In the heart of the Eternal City, ancient secrets aren’t the only thing getting uncovered.


Heartbroken, Remy flies to Rome—the site of her first kiss—to get over her ex and rediscover herself. On her first night in the city, she jumps into her new life by agreeing to a date with a smooth-talking Italian stranger who, as fate would have it, turns out to be a jerk…and a most wanted international criminal to boot.


Implicated in the theft of an ancient amulet, Remy finds herself under house arrest and in the protection of Lorenzo Rossi, the infuriatingly handsome Sicilian detective in charge of the investigation. The case is a make-or-break situation for both of them, and together, they must solve a series of clues to track down the amulet and the bad guys—all while struggling to keep their finger grazes to a minimum and their partnership appropriate.


Their investigation takes them on an intimate, two millennia treasure hunt through Rome, where Remy digs up more than she bargained for.


  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ 113 Semper Street Press

  • Language ‏ : ‎ English

  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 362 pages

  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 979-8986084695

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B0BBQ18FCG

 

First of all, how cute is this cover!? I love the colours and the style is just absolutely made for this book!!


Bonnie Callahan's brilliant writing style had me hooked from the very first page. This story is a very well-balanced rom-com that you just can't put down. Did I mention that it also has spice?? The plot is perfectly thought through but also incredibly funny more often than not. Like seriously... this book made me giggle so much and it might have earned me some funny side glances while reading.


The beautiful Italian setting catapulted me right back to my childhood. We visited our friends in Italy nearly every year when I was a kid and I have so many fond memories of this time. I love this wonderful country, its people, the incredible places, and the amazing cuisine so much and this book let me feel all this again from afar.


What I loved most about this book though are the characters. They have the broadest range of character traits, yet they are the most incredible mix of vulnerable, courageous, sweet, and loving.


Remy is funny, smart, determined, energetic, and absolutely relatable. It was so easy to connect with her! Lorenzo simply is the perfect book boyfriend with such an Italian mentality, though you need to read this story to find out why! Believe me, you'll love him!!


 


I can highly recommend this stunning read to everyone who enjoys a spicy rom-com with a Mediterranean setting, beautifully curated characters, the one bed trope, mystery, and a beautiful plot filled with love.



11 views

Stay updated

  • Facebook
  • mail
  • Twitter
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
bottom of page