top of page
  • Writer's pictureJen

REVIEW TO 'REFLECTION - A TWISTED TALE' BY ELIZABETH LIM

ADVERTISEMENT {REVIEW}




I received this book as a review copy in exchange for my honest and unbiased opinion. A big thank you goes here to Scholastic Australia.



What if Mulan had to travel to the Underworld? When Captain Shang is mortally wounded by Shan Yu in battle, Mulan must travel to the Underworld, Diyu, in order to save him from certain death. Will Mulan be able to save Shang before it's too late?


  • Paperback: 416 pages

  • Publisher: Scholastic Australia

  • ISBN-10: 1742994814

  • ISBN-13: 978-1742994819



Since I was a kid, I loved Mulan. So I've been really intrigued when I heard about ʀᴇꜰʟᴇᴄᴛɪᴏɴ - ᴀ ᴛᴡɪꜱᴛᴇᴅ ᴛᴀʟᴇ by Elizabeth Lim. 🌺


I'm absolutely in love with this cover. At first, it seems very simple but once you look closer, you'll discover quite a few tiny details. And it's got glitter worked in in some areas!


The author's writing style got me hooked straight away. The story is full of action through and through and sometimes so emotional, I had to have the tissue box ready while reading. I've been sent on an emotional roller-coaster but utterly enjoyed the ride. The story really took some surprising twists and turns, which left me speechless and some scenes are simply hilarious.


I'm also quite fascinated by the whole setting. The world building is very well thought through and seems to have gotten a lot of effort put into by the author.


The whole story shows again and again how full of courage and kindness Mulan really is. I adore her and her beautiful character. I also liked all the other characters and especially Captain Shang grew quite a bit on me. And then there are the guardians, which I really love. Though for me there could've been a bit more of Mushu throughout the book.



All up I really enjoyed ʀᴇꜰʟᴇᴄᴛɪᴏɴ - ᴀ ᴛᴡɪꜱᴛᴇᴅ ᴛᴀʟᴇ and can definitely recommend it. It's also suitable for young readers but honestly? You're never too old for anything from the world of Disney!


9 views

Stay updated

  • Facebook
  • mail
  • Twitter
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
bottom of page