top of page
  • Writer's pictureJen

REVIEW TO 'K-POP CONFIDENTIAL' BY STEPHAN LEE

ADVERTISEMENT {REVIEW}


I received this book as a review copy in exchange for my honest and unbiased opinion. A big thank you goes here to Scholastic Australia.


Candace can’t believe her luck when she’s picked from thousands of auditionees to travel to Seoul and train to become a K-pop star. There’s only one problem: she’s really not cut out for it. Amidst scandals, gruelling dance practices and gorgeous boybands, Candace must decide whether a spot in the most hyped K-pop girl group of all time is really worth risking who she is…


  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Chicken House

  • Language ‏ : ‎ English

  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 400 pages

  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1913322297

  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1913322298

  • Reading age ‏ : ‎ 12 - 18 years

 

The cover of K-POP Confidential by Stephan Lee had me intrigued. I found the colour palette and general style to be quite cute and it caught my eye straight away.


To begin with, I'll have to admit that I don't know much at all about the whole K-POP culture and I wanted to dive into this book out of curiosity.


Stephan Lee's writing style is fast-paced, captivating, detailed, and very much enjoyable. Not to forget the whole emotional level of this YA story, it's a rollercoaster! I loved to learn more about the whole culture as well as which aspects and hardships the K-POP contestants go through for their debuts.


It has been great to have some behind the scenes insights and to find out how everyone is coping with the pressure of their lifestyle choices. Candace won me over in absolute no time and I found her to be an easily relatable and strong-willed character.


 

K-POP Confidential by Stephan Lee has been a pleasure to read. The author showcases an impeccable writing style and gives the reader an interesting view behind the scenes of the K-POP culture and everything that is involved in it. I can highly recommend this book.


7 views

Stay updated

  • Facebook
  • mail
  • Twitter
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
bottom of page