top of page
  • Writer's pictureJen

REVIEW TO 'CHARLIE LAVENDER AND THE ORIGIN OF EVERYTHING' BY CARSON PATRICK BOWIE

ADVERTISEMENT {REVIEW}



I received this book as a review copy in exchange for my honest and unbiased opinion.


Discover the brooms of the Wizarding World in this gorgeous sequel to the best-selling Harry Potter: The Wand Collection.


A bundle of awkwardness and social anxiety, Charlie Lavender isn’t sure about starting her freshman year in small-town Normal, Illinois. Little does she know her new best friend, a love triangle, and…a magical owl(?) are waiting for her in the Fall of 1993.


She definitely didn’t expect ominous priests, probable witches, and a secret, several-thousand-year-old war would also become part of everyday life.


Welcome to Normal, where nothing ever is. As she and her newfound friends search for the truth about a world of magic just out of view, the real question is, can Charlie accept the last thing she ever expected to happen? For the first time ever, she’s fitting in.


  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Lab Partners Publishing

  • Language ‏ : ‎ English

  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 391 pages

  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0995235929

  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0995235922

 

Firstly, let me say how incredible this promo box has been. I loved absolutely everything and the whole box just smelled so wonderful!


Now, to my thoughts… I adore this cover as well as the interior layout. The author’s writing style has been captivating, the pacing has been great and the early 90’s setting threw me right back into my childhood years. I also enjoyed the interwoven magic and mentions of history, which made it feel fantastic and real at the same time.


The plot is well thought through but that cliffhanger ending really got to me. The wait for book 2 will be such a pain!


But what I loved most about this book have been the characters. Their growth throughout the story, their friendships, the love triangle - I loved it all.


 



This coming-of-age book is beautiful inside and out and I can definitely recommend reading it.


2 views

Stay updated

  • Facebook
  • mail
  • Twitter
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
bottom of page